The Honors Council consists of the Honors Director, six Honors faculty members, three Honors students, and the Vice President for Academic Affairs at UMF (ex-officio).

​The Council’s primary purpose is to assist the Honors Director in developing the Honors curriculum, conducting HON 499 defenses, coordinating Honors Program changes, and developing appropriate policies for the Program. Honors Council faculty members serve for staggered three-year terms and Honors Council student members serve for one-year renewable terms.

2021-22 Council Members:

John Messier, Honors Director and Professor of Economics

Jayne Decker, Instructor of Theater (2022)

Leigh Ann Fish, Assistant Professor of Early Childhood Education (2024)

Misty Krueger, Associate Professor of English (2024)

Gretchen Legler, Professor of Creative Writing (2023)

Marilyn Shea, Professor of Psychology (2022)

Anne Marie Wolf, Professor of History (2024)

Student Representatives; vacant ( 2022)

Eric Brown, Provost (Ex-officio)

*Honors Director reserves the right to cancel meetings when necessary.

Meetings will also be cancelled if the date falls on a holiday or snow date.​

Meetings may be held via Zoom

Contact us
Honors Program
University of Maine at Farmington
125 Lincoln Street